Travel

Sightseeing in Doha

A visit to Doha just wouldn’t be complete without a trip to the Museum of Islamic Art. There are fabulous artifacts and historical pieces housed in this stunning building. Designed my I.M. Pei, he has creatively incorporated geometric shapes and designs that reflect the theme of the museum. The foyer alone is worth the trip.

Photos are allowed without flash. I wanted to take pictures of everything I saw, but I refrained myself and only took pictures of things that shouted out to me. I will definitely be visiting this museum again on my next trip to Doha.

wpid-20150615_160348.jpg
The exhibits encircles the foyer on several floors. I took this from the 3rd floor.
wpid-20150615_160141.jpg
Unless you look down from any of the upper floors, you would miss this stunning design in the floor!
wpid-20150615_155741.jpg
Would love to have a full wall of these tiles!
wpid-20150615_154140.jpg
The beautiful small shell cup caught my eye even before I read what its purpose was.
This simplistic font type caught me eye. So unusual and different from the calligraphy norm of that time.
This simplistic font type caught me eye. So unusual and different from the calligraphy norm of that time.
wpid-20150615_151731.jpg
Love the pattern and colors. So inspiring!
This view alone is worth the whole trip to the museum! Peaceful and calm; the perfect place to go to when you need to recharge. The day I was there was a bit hazy but on a clear day, I'm told, the view of the city through the arches is spectacular.
This view alone is worth the whole trip to the museum! Peaceful and calm; the perfect place to go to when you need to recharge. The day I was there was a bit hazy but on a clear day, I’m told, the view of the city through the arches is spectacular.
wpid-20150615_165552.jpg
I didn’t see this until I was leaving. The black tile lines create a large geometric design. Beautiful!
One thought on “Sightseeing in Doha

I'd love to hear what you think. Tell me!

