Photo Album: Re-purposed

Now that I’ve joined the ranks of Project Life scrapbookers, I needed an album to house my finished pages. I just couldn’t bring myself to pay $40 and upwards for an album! That’s a “perk” of living overseas: paying double or triple for products. Honestly, I don’t mind the paying the price (at times), but for an empty album? No, I don’t think so.

Then, I remembered that I had a larger photo album that had once been the home of old magnetic photo pages but those were thrown away a long time ago. My Project Life pages actually fit height-wise but the covers were about 2 inches too short in width. While I could have put my pages in there temporarily, it would have just bugged me. And then I had a light-bulb moment! I have some experience in book-making and I could alter it by removing the old covers, keeping the old spine with the ring holders and customize the covers! So EXCITING!!! I soon got to work…

wpid-20150607_120353.jpg

You can see my pages sticking out past the covers.

wpid-20150607_120459.jpg

The inside of the album.

Using a utility/craft knife, I cut away the original covers, leaving the spine intact.

Using a utility/craft knife, I cut away the original covers, leaving the spine intact.

wpid-20150607_171315.jpg

I cut cardboard to the dimensions I needed and collaged gelli printed deli papers on one side.

wpid-20150607_171335.jpg

The second cover. At this point, I hadn’t decided which would be the front and/or back.

Painted the edges of the insides and then adhered full 12x12 sheets.

Painted the edges of the insides and then adhered full 12×12 sheets.

Attached the covers to the spine using duct tape, leaving small gaps to allow for opening and closing the album.

Attached the covers to the spine using duct tape, leaving small gaps to allow for opening and closing the album.

Here's the album from the spine. That's Bubba watching...

Here’s the album from the spine. That’s Bubba watching…

And the back of the album.

And the back of the album.

wpid-20150629_111710-1.jpg

No peekage! SO happy with my new album!!

3 thoughts on “Photo Album: Re-purposed

I'd love to hear what you think. Tell me!

