2015

Black Marker

I’ve been hesitant to use a big black marker to fill/color in a background. I don’t know why. I decided to try. Just try. I don’t have to like it, I just have to try it once. Besides, how will I know I don’t like something if I’ve never tried it?

Using acrylics in various shades of blue, I painted a variegated striped background. I didn’t really like it, but the final result was amazing! Drew the flowers then began the daunting task of coloring in the background. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE to color. As I started using my big black marker, the ink wasn’t flowing into the nib as it should have been which had me a bit frustrated, but I carried on. I’m not sure if I would do another black background, but I might be tempted to try a blue or red one. The black outlines of the flowers sort of disappeared so I tried it with white and then settled on silver. I really liked that effect. It’s not my usual style but I’m happy with the final result.

wpid-20150425_224740.jpg

I'd love to hear what you think. Tell me!

