Everything else

Beginning Calligraphy – lesson 1

I’ve always wanted to learn calligraphy, admiring and enjoying all the loops and curves the way the lines got thicker here and thinner there enticing my eyes to follow the graceful slopes to the end of the line. When I saw that Creative Bug offered a class, well, of course, I signed up!

Things I learned

  • Hold the pen at the same angle and not turn it while writing.
  • Apply pressure for thicker lines and release pressure for thin.
  • It takes practice to dip the pen in the ink far enough to fill the reservoir but not so far that the ink gets on the holder (Note to self: need to find small inkwells).
  • Remember: the ink has to dry before running my hand over the page!

wpid-20150304_094849.jpg

I'd love to hear what you think. Tell me!

