Food

Experimental Fridays

Quite some time since I’ve posted something foodie. This recipe is well-worth sharing! You might not have all the ingredients in your kitchen, but I did so that’s why I tried it! I’m all for recipes that call for ingredients I already have on hand!

This came from a Daily Mail news article that printed this recipe along with a few others about a week ago. Thanks, Mary!

I just realized that I would normally show you all the ingredients before making the recipe. Honestly, I didn’t even think about that and wasn’t planning on posting at all, but the taste was just so delicious and it looked just like on TV!!

Vietnamese Prawn Pho

48 calories per portion (add ten to 15 calories for every 50g of additional veg). Serves 4.

2 lemon grass stems, outer leaves removed, inner stem finely chopped

2 tsp fresh root ginger, grated

4 kaffir lime leaves, torn

1.5 liter vegetable or fish stock

1 tsp palm or light soft brown sugar

3 tbsp Thai fish sauce

Juice of a lime

10 large prawns, shelled and deveined

50g bean sprouts

Fresh Thai basil leaves, mint, coriander and sliced red chilli, to serve

Use a pestle and mortar to grind lemon grass, ginger and kaffir lime leaves. Add paste to large saucepan with stock and boil for ten minutes. Add sugar, fish sauce and lime juice, tasting to check for balance. Cook prawns in broth until pink (2 to 3 mins. Add bean sprouts, plenty of herbs and red chilli to serve.

(I would like to add here that if you don’t know your fish sauce, add sparingly, tasting as you go. The brand I have is quite salty so a little goes a long, long way.)

I made an unseasoned stir-fry out of veggies I had already – snow peas, carrots, cauliflower, onions – adding lots of garlic and ginger. I places a serving in my bowl first, added the Prawn Pho, and topped it with fresh bean sprouts and a bit of parsley leaves (I’ll use coriander/cilantro next time).

Even though I didn’t have the lime leaves, this was still such a delicious dish! Definitely making again this next week!!!

wpid-20150108_192110.jpg

I'd love to hear what you think. Tell me!

