Play Dough Fun

My daughter was telling me about her friend’s 2nd grade twin girls who love play-dough except that one is allergic to commercial brands – it exacerbates her eczema! I offered to make up a batch for them and came upon the perfect recipe! I settled on The Imagination Tree’s   version of Best Ever No-Cook Play Dough. I even had all the ingredients on hand, including the glycerin.

This was not what I considered a no-fail recipe. For my first try, I followed the recipe and used my kitchen machine to help with the kneading. I thought it was too sticky so added a bit more flour and continued kneading. To my surprise and dismay the dough started to break down and just got stickier and stickier. Disaster! Not being one to give up, I tossed the batch out, cleaned the bowl, various utensils and started over reminding myself to stop when the dough felt “right.”

wpid-20140728_154343.jpgHere is my slightly modified Play Dough recipe

  • 3 Cups all-purpose flour
  • 3 Tablespoons cooking oil
  • 3/4 Cups coarse (Kosher) salt – I didn’t have enough finer ground table salt
  • 2 Tablespoons Cream of Tartar
  • 2-1/4 Cups boiling water
  • about 1/4 teaspoon glycerin
  • food coloring gel

 

The original recipe calls for mixing ingredients separately but since I used my machine, I just put everything except the food color into the bowl and turned it on. Remember to start with a slow speed to blend everything together before going to high speed, otherwise you’ll be covered in flour! I think you could also use a food processor to mix this up. I have used one to make pizza dough and the dough came out pretty smooth.

The Play Dough will look quite sticky in the bowl but if you test a small piece you’ll find it smooth, soft and warm, of course! I could still feel quite a bit of the kosher salt but it does dissolve when kneading the colors in. I divided the dough into 6 equal balls of dough and let them rest for about 30 minutes while I cleaned up the kitchen.

wpid-20140728_220954.jpg

 

 

I hand kneaded in the food coloring gel. I’m so glad I didn’t have to use liquid! What a mess that would have been! I made 6 colors, red, blue, green and yellow; mixing together red and yellow for orange and blue and red for purple. I had gotten 6 small food containers to store the Play Dough.

 

 

 

 

wpid-20140728_221157.jpg

 

We got matching sets of cookie cutters and chocolate molds. And, of course, I just had to get little rolling pins! We also picked up two padded bags to hold everything.

I enjoyed making up these care packages and can’t wait to have Play Dough Day at Grandma Camp in the near (hopefully) future!

PS. The girls loved their bags and the rolling pins were a BIG hit!!

 

3 thoughts on “Play Dough Fun

I'd love to hear what you think. Tell me!

