Experimental Weekend: Okazu

Wikipedia defines Okazu (O-kah’-zoo) as a side dish to accompany rice. I know it as a comfort food from my childhood. Being one of six to a single parent, I remember dinners as being quick and tasty. Okazu was a favorite of mine and remember having it often. It really is a quick, easy, tasty, could even be construed as healthy. Measurements are approximate and my mom didn’t write this one down so I’m going by taste alone. It did taste like it was supposed to and I was transported back to my childhood.

1lb ground beef

1/2 bag of frozen mixed veggies

1/4C light soy sauce

1/2C water

2 teaspoons sugar

2 Tablespoons flour

wpid-20140513_205955.jpg

 

Brown ground beef in pan. Add mixed vegetables.

wpid-20140513_210121.jpg

 

 

Combine soy sauce, water, sugar and flour in measuring cup and stir until sugar is dissolved and flour is incorporated. It should be a caramel color and taste similar to terriyaki sauce.

 

 

 

wpid-20140513_210616.jpg

 

 

Add to meat mixture and stir until bubbly. Let simmer until veggies are cooked through and sauce has thickened.

 

 

 

wpid-20140513_213742.jpgServe over hot rice. And there you have the common man’s version of a Beef Bowl. Enjoy!

 

 

 

I'd love to hear what you think. Tell me!

