Dubai

Woodcut Printmaking

Last night I participated in a workshop hosted by the Manarat Al Saadiyat, an arts and cultural center located in the Saadiyat Cultural District in Abu Dhabi.  It is currently exhibiting in conjunction with the British Museum’s  A History of the World in 100 ObjectsThe workshops explore some of the themes and concepts presented in the exhibit. Carving my own woodblock and printing the result had me intrigued. I enjoyed trying my hand at carving wood and I was very surprised with the resulting print.

We were given the choice of either creating our own design or using a copy of one of the artifacts on display. Many of us chose the latter. I decided to use an image of what looks to be a stone or wood carving of Buddha.  I wasn’t too sure how the face would turn out, but to my delight, it looks alright!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

I'd love to hear what you think. Tell me!

