Experimental Fridays – Carrot Cake Revisited

wpid-20140111_184059.jpgI am always amazed that with every day ingredients, prepared in just the right way, can be transformed into such tantalizing, scrumptious foods!

This carrot cake recipe is from the 1989 version of my trusty, tried and true Better Homes and Gardens New Cook Book (1989 10th edition).

  • 2 C all-purpose flour
  • 2 C sugar
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 3 C finely shredded carrot
  • 1 C cooking oil
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/2 C chopped walnuts – this ingredient is not in the original recipe but I just couldn’t resist. I love walnuts in carrot cake!!

In a bowl, combine dry ingredients. Add carrot, oil and eggs. Beat with electric mixer until combined.

Pour into  2 greased and floured 9×1 1/2 inch pans. Bake at 350F/175C for 30-35 minutes or till a toothpick inserted into center comes out clean. Cool on wire racks for 10 minutes. Remove cakes from pans. Cool thoroughly.

wpid-20140111_194216.jpgI thought to modify the recipe thinking there was just too much oil and too many eggs for my liking, but, I am one to follow a given recipe as instructed and then make my modifications for the next time. For future reference I will most likely only use 1/2 C oil + 1/2 C milk and 3 eggs, double the cinnamon and maybe add some crushed pineapple.  I did use my mini-loaf pan; the recipe was just enough for eight loaves. Wrapped individually, they make perfect portable snacks! If they last that long. After I took this photo, the plate was empty! That’s always a good sign…

And yes, we use our Christmas plates all year ’round. My kids requested that several years ago and I thought “why not?” We love the design and it’s our way of keeping the Spirit of Christmas every day.

One thought on “Experimental Fridays – Carrot Cake Revisited

  1. Nancy Barnes says:

    A link to this was under “related” hence commenting almost a year later… oh yummy, a scratch recipe for carrot cake that can be cut down to a 4th, only make two mini loaves! This I shall have to try.

I'd love to hear what you think. Tell me!

