My 14 Most Useful Android Apps

My apologies Apple users. I’m a ‘droid-head and proud of it! Had an iPhone a few years ago, made the switch and now I can never go back! Here is my list of useful (maybe unnecessary)  free apps that I use on a regular basis and are in no particular order:

  1. Evernote  – “Remember Everything. Evernote apps and products make modern life manageable, by letting you easily collect and find everything that matters.” I love that this app syncs over all devices which means that I can use Evernote Webclipper to clip favorite webpages (and that means recipes) from my desktop and have the recipe to view on my phone while I’m in the kitchen making it! I keep an inventory of my art supplies (pens and paints) so when I’m in the store I’m not buying something I already have. I also have a note that contains all account numbers for banks, utilities and airline loyalty programs.
  2. WordPress I don’t usually write posts on my phone but I do like to take notes when I find myself waiting somewhere and think of something I’d like to blog about at a later date. I do use this app on a daily basis to upload media photos and then edit on my desktop. The screen’s bigger!
  3. XE – Very useful currency converter where you can keep up to 10 different currencies on the app’s home page. It allows you to input a specific currency’s amount and automatically calculates the equivalent in your selected currencies. Quite handy when on vacation.
  4. Cubie – a fun way to keep in touch. For those of us with privacy issues, here’s the keep-in-touch app for you! You get a personal id number and add only who you want. You can also send a multitude of animated stickers when words just aren’t enough and you can even draw your own picture and send instead. There’s a call option that is very stable and so clear. No video call option yet but they are working on it. Picture uploading and receiving is fast and doesn’t slow the app down. And now that there’s a desktop (laptop/pc) version you can replying is even easier!
  5. Google Keep – Quickly capture what’s on your mind and be reminded at the right place or time. This app is similar to a digital post-it. Make a list, “jot” down a reminder, take a picture of gift ideas. Drag and drop to change order; color code for easy retrieval. You can even view your notes at online and add to it from your desktop! Genius!!
  6. Kindle – Great for when I find myself waiting unexpectedly longer than I planned and want to find out what happens next. Love that it syncs with my Kindle at home.
  7. CamScanner – This is one app that EVERYONE should get if they don’t have it already! This phone PDF creator lets you take a photo of a document, then it cleans it up, straightens and smooths it out, even lightens it up if it needs it! AND the app is SO user friendly! App was also featured on CBS. It’s that good!! Get it!!
  8. Conversion Calculator 4.1.0 – This conversion app has it all: force, length, mass, pressure, speed, even time, radiation and more!
  9. Qr Barcode Scanner –  This app is one that is just there in case I need it. I do like that it picks up the barcode from the couch. That was a pleasant surprise.
  10. MyFitnessPal – a great app for tracking caloric intake and keeping a food journal. Their database boasts 3 million foods! Most have nutrition information and is broken down into single servings but can be changed. What I love the most about this app is if you can’t find a food, you can scan the barcode and save it! A fantastic and free tool for the health and weight conscious.
  11. Sudoku 10,000 Free – You either love or hate sudoku. Levels include very easy, easy, moderate, advanced, hard, very hard, fiendish and nightmare. Great brain exerciser!
  12. Word With Friends – who doesn’t like a good game of Scrabble every now and then?
  13. Great Big Radio – “Oldies Gone Wrong” Like one-hit wonders from the past three decades? Oldies gone moldie? This is the radio app for you. I love their tongue-in-cheek humor… “muffin-top isn’t getting any smaller; take us to the gym!” 
  14. TuneIn Radio – Radio stations of every genre available. Want to listen to something different? Hawaiian classics? Arabic classical? This app has it all!

And there you have it. Apps I like and use. Agree? Disagree? I’d love to know what your favorite apps are.

I'd love to hear what you think. Tell me!

