Ch-ch-ch-ch-Changes

cold turkey

You need to make a major change in your life. Do you make it all at once, cold turkey style, or incrementally?

Major change. I’m inclined to say I would just to it all-at-once. Cold Turkey. I equate this to getting into cold water like a pool, the ocean or a mountain lake. It’s better to just dive in and come up gasping for air. It’s not so bad once you go back down for a second time. If you go inch by inch, it just takes forever and you may never get used to the cold.

But then changing your eating habits, for example, may be less of a shock, less of a feeling of deprivation if you were to make changes gradually. Before long you’ve accomplished what you set out to do.

A major change like moving from one city, state or country to another one doesn’t have a choice to move gradually. Would you want to move gradually is my question?

This ends with something to ponder: maybe it makes a difference what type of major change we’re talking about.

2 thoughts on “Ch-ch-ch-ch-Changes

  1. Susan says:

    Hi Lorrie, I tend to make changes all at once and jump in the deep end then try to tread water (which I can’t do) but seem to come out ok. That’s been my motto all my life, just ‘Go for it’.
    Love, Susan

I'd love to hear what you think. Tell me!

