Food

Experimental Fridays – Sweet Potato Chips (in the microwave!)

wpid-20140131_201720-1.jpg

Yes, You read it correctly! In the microwave! I know, I didn’t believe it, either.But they do crisp up when they’re cooling if they’ve been cooked long enough. That’s the experimental part of the process. I first saw the recipe last week and have been doing a bit of research; reading about the pros and cons. Most posts were positive, only one complained they kept having chewy, crispy and burnt all in the same batch! With recipe in hand, off I went to try it out for myself and share my results here.

wpid-20140131_191639.jpg

Ingredients: 

1 or 2 sweet potatoes

olive oil

salt and pepper for seasoning (I used just salt)

a mandolin for slicing

baking or parchment paper to line the microwave plate

wpid-20140131_192050.jpg

Because I was just too lazy to walk all the way to the utensil drawer behind me to get the kitchen scissors, I folded the baking paper corners down so the sheet would fit the glass plate and not get caught on the sides as it turned.

wpid-20140131_192327.jpg

Slice the potatoes as thinly as you can being consistent with all the slices so they’ll all cook at the same rate. I used a mandolin and didn’t even draw blood! Lay as many slices as you can on the plate ensuring they don’t overlap. Touching edges is fine. Most recipes called for misting with oil but since my mister is broken I dabbed each slice with a little olive oil then sprinkled very lightly with salt.

As we all know or we should all know, every microwave is different. I tried 2 minutes then flipped and cooked for another 2 minutes.

As we all know or we should all know, every microwave is different. And here is where the experimental part come in. I tried 2 minutes then flipped and cooked for another 2 minutes. All the posts said the slices would crisp up as they cooled. I waited but they didn’t crisp. Instead they were quite rubbery. Not wanting to turn the potatoes, I opted to cook them for 4 mins on the same side and see what that would do. They turned out pretty much the same; not quite cooked enough. For the next several batches I tried cooking for 4.5, 5, and finally… the magic number is 5.5 on high power for my microwave!

As they cooled, they really did get crispy. Amazing! And the taste! Y.U.M.M.Y. I’m a convert and will be making these again very soon.

I would highly recommend everyone try this. It’s quick and easy, so tasty and best of all, healthy for you!

I'd love to hear what you think. Tell me!

