Quote

“Never trust anyone…”

“Never trust anyone who has not brought a book with them.” ~ Lemony Snicket

I love this. I’m not sure if I believe it, but I’m leaning towards yes. Does it matter what kind of book they have? I don’t think it does. What matters is that they have a book.

I live in a country where the literacy rate among the nationals is in the upper 90% yet in comparison there are few readers. And I don’t count reading 140-words or less as a “read.” I’ll exclude the newspaper and what is necessary for work. I’m talking about reading for pleasure. I will also throw in blogs as reading material because who can stop at just one blog?

I have a theory about why this is..

We all know the importance of a role model whether they’re positive or negative. A positive one needs no explanation while on the other hand a negative role model will do one of two things: One: help to perpetuate the cycle of negativity or two: instigate a positive change. Yes, I know all that, you say. Bear with me, I say…

Just the last three, maybe four generations ago education was not mandatory, resulting in a higher illiteracy rate. The next generation (my husband’s) all learned to read and write. But, they were under the impression that reading was only for school work and/or for when you got a job. So now we have kids who know how to read but don’t know that reading can be a worthy pastime. Time passes and we are on to the third, maybe fourth generation since the days of not knowing how to read to now, where everyone knows how to read.

The majority of my kids’ generation are not readers and if they are, they’re a very small percentage. I account that to the availability of a wider variety of books than there were 10-15 years ago and to having at least one parent who is a recreational reader. I love to read. I usually have 2-3, sometimes 4 books going at the same time. One next to my bed, one in the bathroom, one on my Kindle, maybe a different one on my Android Kindle and sometimes another one in my purse! My kids have been surrounded by books their whole lives. I have two voracious readers, 1 semi-reader and 1 for-work-only-and-maybe-if-I-have-nothing-else-to-do reader. 3-1/2 out of 4 ain’t too bad!

So, will I trust you if you don’t have a book? Let’s just say I’ll trust you more if you do.

I'd love to hear what you think. Tell me!

