Family

New Year’s Tradition

Sushi on New Year’s Day was always a tradition I looked forward to every year in my childhood. Several of my cousins and I have a theory that these are poor man’s sushi as we have yet to find them in a sushi bar! Imagine my surprise on discovering the “football” sushi pockets a year, maybe two after I moved to Dubai way back in 1988.

I happily re-created my childhood tradition for my own kids who now look forward to this seasonal food as eagerly as I do. I love that they have at least one Japanese tradition! I even made oshenko sushi which is made up of colored pickled tskimono (daikon radish) rolled up in rice and a nori (seaweed) wrap. As a young mom eager to create lasting traditions, my addition to our New Year’s Day fare is a cheeseball served with a variety of crackers and cheesecake. Easy dishes that make the transition into a new year relaxing after the hustle and bustle of Christmas.
image

I'd love to hear what you think. Tell me!

