Dubai

Love Book (af)Fairs

Last week I went to the Abu Dhabi International Book Fair with my daughter. After finding out way through one swirling vortex aka the parking structure and parking in the second one, we finally made it to the actual exhibition.

image

We were both pleasantly surprised at the size, variety and amount of people that were there. Afra bought books for all the children of her co-workers. She’s determined to make readers out of all of them! One comment from a happy recipient was, “this is the happiest day of my life!” He got a wonderful, colorful, interesting, child-sized book about a knight.

I found these two books about halfway through the fair. They looked very interesting but I haven’t had a chance to read through them. Islamic art holds quite an appeal for me most likely because it is based on sacred geometry principles.

Sacred Geometry by definition is geometry used in planning and construction of religious structures such as churches, temples, mosques, religious monuments, altars as well as sacred spaces and the creation of religious art.

Whatever the reason, I like it and find it fascinating. I’m sure I’ll enjoy my new books even if it’s just to look at and be inspired by the pictures.

image

I'd love to hear what you think. Tell me!

