Everything else

“…without a smile…”

If you see someone without a smile, give them one of yours.

This is one of my favorite quotes that I return to again and again. I don’t remember when I first heard or saw this but I’ve been using it nearly all my life. It’s been around a long, long time. I loved it so much I added it to my blurb my senior year space in the yearbook. It’s stayed with me ever since. It has always moved me. It’s so simple. So easy. So effortless. And it makes a huge impact.

I love this quote so much because I have been given smiles when I needed one the most and it just instantly, magically lifted my spirits. Having someone smile at me when I haven’t felt like it makes me feel needed, cared for, visible. One can’t help but smile back.   At least I can’t help but smile back.

I like to give credit where it’s due so I did a search. A similar quote came up by Dolly Parton from Best Little Whorehouse in Texas – If you see someone without a smile give them yours. It’s just slightly different, but still the same message. A reader’s response posted this: 

Smiling is infectious..

you can catch it like a flu..

someone smiled at me today…

and I started smiling too…

I had to chuckle when I read this, I couldn’t help it! I might even start using this one, too. I wonder what would happen if everyone smiled at the same time, if everyone took these quotes to heart and started practicing them?

One thought on ““…without a smile…”

I'd love to hear what you think. Tell me!

