Plagiarism – Another Musing

Plagiarism: to steal and pass off (the ideas or words of another) as one’s own; use (another’s production) without crediting the source  {from Merriam Webster’s Dictionary}

This topic is certainly like opening the proverbial can of worms. As a (somewhat new) art journal student, I am inspired by many artiste’s works. Is it plagiarism when the student is inspired/motivated and attempts to reproduce the page but uses their own choices of colors, texts and other techniques?

Not looking for answers just throwing the question out there. It’s just something that I think about from time to time…

One thought on “Plagiarism – Another Musing

  1. Lorrie, I think this is an awesome question, it’s one that I ask myself quite often too.
    I think that as art journalers, we need to remember that what goes into our art journal is a personal journey and not so much the same as what we might make for profit or gain. In that way, we’re not taking someone else’s ideas in a way that is bad. We’re using what we see as inspiration for our own journals.
    It’s like following other prompts and ideas, I think we bloggers put these journal pages and prompts out on the very public forum of the internet, so that we can connect with each other and hopefully inspire each other.
    You blog, and you put up your pictures of your beautiful work, how do you feel about someone seeing your pages and trying to do what you’re doing in their own journal?
    I feel flattered and more inspired when someone feels inspired by any of my work. It’s kind of like payback to the world since I have found so much inspiration from other work that I have seen. Know what I mean?

I'd love to hear what you think. Tell me!

