Hatching: No Eggs Involved

I learned another art technique. Well, it’s actually self-taught but I was inspired to try it. It’s called hatching and consists of lots of lines drawn closely together.  Cross-hatching would be lines that go in one direction for the first layer and the following layers are in different directions – vertical, horizontal and diagonal. I was nervous but determined to try. So, I took a deep breath, grabbed my pen and did it! I’m so glad I found the courage. I surprised and impressed myself! I didn’t know I had it in me, but apparently I do!!

Now that the weather is more conducive to having coffee on the veranda (which is really a big porch) I have gotten into the routine of arting while enjoying that oh-so-necessary, start-the-day first (and second) cup(s) of coffee and thought it would be fun to document today’s session   of “Breakfast Art.”

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The bumps in the page are because I’m working in an altered composition notebook. The glued pages cause parts of the pages to buckle, but I like that messy, textural look and feel. This page was done with just a regular blue ballpoint pen. Impressive, huh?

2 thoughts on “Hatching: No Eggs Involved

  1. Framing your sketch is the way I learned from Alisa Burke – an amazing watercolor artiste. I think it just adds that extra oomph and gives one a peek into what the artist is about at that particular time.

  2. Yes, very impressive for a first try at hatching. The shells are beautiful. I like your art journal, especially the way you draw a border and write around the edges. Art and coffee sounds like the best way to start each day. :)

I'd love to hear what you think. Tell me!

