One thing leads to (another): Haiku!!!

Earlier this year, I subscribed to The Daily Post at WordPress.com after making the commitment (with myself) to post every week.I’ll admit committing to once-a-week posting lets me off the hook on a daily basis. I may modify it to weekly later in the year but I’m not quite ready to that. Yet. I’ll also admit that there are times when I just don’t feel that I have anything “valid” to write. Valid to whom?

Yesterday, Scott’s (@the daily post) post included a time-lapse video of watching a writer write 1000 words. And yes, his article was titled How to Write 1000 Words. Intrigued, I watched the video and read the full article. I thought it might help with Blogger’s Block (which, apparently doesn’t exist. What?!?) I haven’t needed or felt the burning urge to write a book, novel, or short story, I do enjoy writing and have had a diary journal of some sort for most of my adult life either hand written, saved on my computer or somewhere on the web. But I have heard the phrase “you should write a book!” more than a few times. Is that a cosmic sign that I didn’t notice and kept on driving? Don’t we all like to be in the driver’s seat?!

I continued reading and after following my own how-to-write-a-book “paper” trail via Scott Berkun’s blog articles, I’ve been motivated to write. I thought I would just dive right in and choose his suggestion of “Try something harder.” Haiku. I discovered that the standard 5-7-5 that we all learned in English class is a strict guideline that I understand now would be needed to keep all us 6th graders (and up) in line. Here are the results of my motivation:

1. Write down 3 sentences (5-7-5 is ingrained so I kept these short and in semi-Haiku format)

Pain in knees.

Ayurveda treatment.

All pain gone (or Pain, all gone?)

2. Traditional Haiku uses

  • 3-short lines
  • 1-season word
  • 1-cutting word
  • no rhyme or metaphor
  • (17 syllables, 5-7-5) This one is just a guideline. Haiku in other languages follow this as an exception rather than a rule.

I revised my Haiku to this:

Cold in knees

Ayurveda

Strong, healthy

But this just wasn’t doing it for me, sigh. On to the next exercise step…

3. Write 40 words for the seasons. Shiki, a Haiku master, listed thousands for each.

Spring: grass, flowers, warm rain, new buds, pastels, tulips, roses, pollen, allergies, new beginnings, birth

Summer: hot, AC, beach, watermelon, coconut, sandals, t-shirts, sunflowers, vacation,   weddings, tan lines, brown skin, swimming, lazy

Fall: leaves, autumn, oranges, golds, sunset, sweaters, trees, cool nights, pumpkins, Halloween, Thanksgiving, pumpkin pie, brisk

Winter: snow, cold, white, jackets, bundled-up, scarves, hats, mittens, gloves, boots, hot drinks, soups, Christmas, lights, clouds

Ok, this exercise in imageries really helped. I listed more than 40 and I can almost smell the pie.

My final revision…

Winter knees

Ayurveda

Healthy. Strong.

Yes. That’s better. And here’s what today’s motivation sparked:

Doors open

First day of Spring

Perfect breeze

I like it!! And I’m the only one who has to like it. It has to be valid to me. Lesson learned. But, if someone else likes it, that’s a BIG bonus!

I'd love to hear what you think. Tell me!

