Crochet, temari, quilting

Afra’s t-shirt quilt

This is my first t-shirt quilt, though not my first quilt by any means. This one’s made from 35 t-shirts! It’s a monster of a quilt, too. my daughter is nearly 6′ tall, so she needs the length. And because she sleeps all wrapped up like a cocoon, she needed extra width for wrapping.

I used both fronts and backs of the shirts, making it up with the quilt-as-you-go method of quilting where you sandwich the top, inner batting and backing of each block individually.Each block is quilted in parallel lines horizontally, vertically, right or left diagonally. I’m really happy with the way it turned out.

Each block is 14″ finished; is 5 blocks across and 7 blocks down. There’s a 3″ yellow and white striped border with an assorted binding made up of 7×2″ strips.  It’s a great memento quilt and brought back lots of memories looking at all the different t-shirts my daughter’s worn throughout the years.

I'd love to hear what you think. Tell me!

